Report Absence

Main: 0151 477 8740

Admissions: 0151 477 8753

Headteacher: Mr T. McGuinness


The science department aims to:

  • Develop the scientific knowledge and conceptual understanding of our students through the specific disciplines of biology, chemistry and physics.
  • Develop an understanding of the scientific method through hands on investigation, discussion and enquiry.
  • Develop young adults capable of making responsible decisions concerning science-related social issues.
  • Inspire the next generation of British scientists, medics and engineers.
  • Mr C Billington - Head of Department
  • Mr D McGinn
  • Mr D McLoughlin
  • Miss S Porter
  • Miss C Murphy
  • Miss L Strickland
  • Mr M Clark
  • Mr A Sinclair - Technician
Key Stage 3

Pupils in years 7 and 8 will follow a 2 year Key Stage 3 programme of study that will include have seven one hour lessons over a fortnight and will study Biology, Chemistry, Physics. Each pupil will follow an in-house scheme of work based on Pearson Exploring Science and will learn the skills that are required to approach practical work in a valid and reliable nature.

Year 7
  • Biology
  • Cells
  • Reproduction
  • Variation
  • Food
  • Chemistry
  • Acids and Alkalis
  • Particles
  • Atoms and Elements
  • Combustion
  • Physics
  • Energy
  • Electricity
  • Forces
  • Sound
Year 8
  • Biology
  • Plants & Photosynthesis
  • Respiration
  • Microbes
  • Genetics and Evolution
  • Chemistry
  • The Periodic Table
  • Metals and their Uses
  • Making Materials
  • Reactivity
  • Physics
  • Fluids
  • Light
  • Energy Transfers
  • Forces and Fields
Key Stage 4
Combined science (First certification June 2018)

From 2015 year 9 pupils will begin KS4 and will follow the Edexcel Programme of Study, Combined Science, 9-1. This will comprise of 7 lessons a fortnight and will include topics on Biology, Chemistry and Physics. Year 10 & 11 pupils will continue with the same programme of study and will receive 9 lessons a fortnight.

Changes to the Curriculum?

As of 2016 all pupils in years 9 and 10 will be following the new curriculum format where pupils will receive a Level rather than a Grade when they reach year 11. In addition to this, there are further changes to the assessments that pupils will face. There will be no internally moderated controlled assessment (coursework that comprised 25% of the final grade). This has been replaced by a series of practical components that will be conducted throughout the teaching of the course. The externally assessed written papers (now 100% of the final Level) will then examine these components.

Separate Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics

In order to receive the required number of lessons a fortnight pupils will be required to select Triple Science as one of their options. Pupils who select Triple Science will receive an additional 5 lessons per fortnight and will leave at the end of year 11 with separate awards in Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

Triple science is a demanding academic course which will prepare pupils in their pursuit of science at A-Level and beyond. This qualification develops a variety of key skills that can be used in all areas of working life and beyond.

Key Stage 5

At this Key Stage, all pupils study BTec Pearson BTEC Level 3 Certificate in Applied Science (QCF) (500/6726/6).

BTEC Science

Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma (1 A Level) Level 3 BTEC Science qualifications give you an understanding of the essential knowledge and skills needed to help you begin or progress in a broad range of Science careers. They can also open up further areas of study to you.

BTEC’s are vocationally related qualifications, where learners develop knowledge and understanding by applying their learning and skills in a work-related context. They are popular and effective because they engage learners to take responsibility for their own learning and to develop skills that are essential for the modern-day workplace.

Year 12
  • Unit 1.1 – Volumetric analysis
  • Unit 1.3 – Energy for All
  • Unit 1.4 – Communicating Scientific Information
  • Unit 2.5 – Legislation in the Laboratory
  • Unit 4.1 – Quantitative and Qualitative Analysis
  • Unit 4.2 – Separating and Estimating Purity
  • Unit 1.2 – Training for Work
  • Unit 2.2 – Communication
  • Unit 2.3 – Laboratory Design
  • Unit 2.4 – The Storage and Management of Information
  • Unit 4.3 – Using of Instruments and Sensors to Test Materials
  • Unit 11.2 – Circulatory System
  • Unit 2.1 – Procedures and Practices
Year 13
  • Unit 11.2 – Circulatory System
  • Unit 11.3 – Respiratory System
  • Unit 18.1 – Protein Synthesis
  • Unit 18.4 DNA Techniques
  • Unit 18.5 – Applications of Genetic Engineering
  • Unit 18.2 Mitosis and Meiosis
  • Unit 12.1 – Reabsorption in the Kidney and Associated Abnormalities
  • Unit 12.2 /3 – Nervous and Endocrine Systems
  • Unit 12.4 – The Role of the Reproductive System
  • Unit 18.3 Mendelian Genetics